AKG (Alpha-Ketoglutarate) | Ingredient Overview: Pharmacokinetics, Formulations, Human Research Evidence, Safety, and Combinations


AKG, also called alpha-ketoglutarate or 2-oxoglutarate, is an endogenous tricarboxylic-acid-cycle metabolite studied in humans through calcium alpha-ketoglutarate, arginine alpha-ketoglutarate, ornithine alpha-ketoglutarate, and clinical AKG preparations across biological-age, bone, exercise, metabolic, wound-care, dialysis, and cardiac-surgery research contexts (Review).

AKG is prominent in aging discussions because 2-oxoglutarate is required by some enzymes that remove methyl groups from DNA and histones, linking it mechanistically to epigenetic regulation (Review). Human anti-aging evidence remains preliminary because completed studies include a retrospective Ca-AKG formulation analysis and a cross-sectional epigenetic-clock cohort, while randomized Ca-AKG aging research has been published mainly as trial protocols or registrations rather than completed outcomes (Research) (Research) (Research). Other human AKG research is broader but formulation-specific, including calcium AKG for bone turnover, AAKG for exercise physiology, OKG for clinical nutrition, and AKG-enriched cardioplegia for cardiac surgery (Research) (Research) (Research).

Ingredient Identity

  • Official name(s): Alpha-ketoglutarate; alpha-ketoglutaric acid; 2-oxoglutarate; 2-oxoglutaric acid (Review).
  • Synonyms: AKG, α-KG, 2-OG, oxoglutarate, 2-ketoglutarate (Review).
  • Classification: Endogenous tricarboxylic-acid-cycle intermediate and 2-oxoglutarate-dependent dioxygenase co-substrate (Review).
  • CAS number: 328-50-7 for alpha-ketoglutaric acid; salt forms and complexes may have different identifiers (IUPHAR/BPS).
  • Endogenous vs exogenous: AKG is produced in human metabolism and has also been studied exogenously as Ca-AKG, AAKG, OKG, calcium ketoglutarate, and AKG-enriched cardioplegia (Review).

Ingredient Snapshot

  • Classification: AKG is a Krebs-cycle metabolite involved in energy metabolism, amino acid metabolism, nitrogen handling, and 2-oxoglutarate-dependent enzyme reactions (Review).
  • Endogenous vs exogenous status: AKG occurs naturally in human metabolism and is also administered in oral supplement, enteral nutrition, dialysis, and surgical research settings (Review).
  • Primary human research domains: Human studies have examined biological-age markers, bone turnover, exercise physiology, glucose-control support during exercise training, wound-care nutrition, hemodialysis, and cardiac-surgery biomarkers (Research) (Research) (Research).
  • Common study formats: The literature includes retrospective biomarker analysis, cross-sectional epigenetic-clock analysis, randomized controlled trials, crossover dialysis studies, clinical nutrition trials, and trial protocols (Research) (Research) (Research).
  • Pharmacokinetic characterization status: Human pharmacokinetic evidence is strongest for AAKG-related plasma arginine response and OKG burn-patient metabolism, while oral Ca-AKG pharmacokinetics for aging research remain less directly characterized (Research) (Research).
  • Regulatory context, U.S.: FDA states that dietary supplements are not approved for safety and effectiveness before they are sold (FDA).
  • Regulatory context, EU: EFSA describes food supplements as regulated products containing nutrients or other substances with nutritional or physiological effects, but this review did not verify an AKG-specific authorized EU health claim (EFSA).
  • Evidence maturity: The overall human evidence is limited and mixed because anti-aging evidence is mainly biomarker-based, while other domains rely on small or context-specific studies using different AKG-containing compounds (Research) (Review).

Introduction

AKG is a central metabolic intermediate in the Krebs cycle, the pathway cells use to process nutrients into usable energy intermediates (Review). It also links carbon metabolism with amino acid and nitrogen metabolism, which helps explain why AKG-containing formulations have been studied in exercise, clinical nutrition, hemodialysis, and surgical settings (Review).

People often look up AKG because of its proposed relationship to biological aging, epigenetic regulation, collagen biology, exercise physiology, and metabolic health (Review). Human research has examined DNA methylation age, bone turnover markers, exercise-training outcomes, glucose-control outcomes during exercise training, wound-healing nutrition, dialysis-related markers, and myocardial injury biomarkers during cardiac surgery (Research) (Research) (Research).

This article is informational only, describes AKG as a biochemical substance studied in human research, and does not provide medical or dosing advice.

Quick Summary

  • AKG is alpha-ketoglutarate, a natural human metabolite involved in energy metabolism, amino acid metabolism, and nitrogen handling (Review).
  • AKG is relevant to epigenetic research because 2-oxoglutarate-dependent enzymes include DNA and histone demethylases (Review).
  • Human anti-aging evidence for Ca-AKG remains preliminary because completed studies are retrospective or cross-sectional, while controlled aging trials are still protocol-stage or registered (Research) (Research).
  • A six-month randomized trial in postmenopausal women with osteopenia reported that calcium AKG reduced CTX, a marker of bone resorption, compared with calcium alone (Research).
  • Exercise studies using AKG or AAKG report mixed findings because formulation, population, dose, and outcome differ across trials (Research) (Research).
  • OKG has been studied in burn and pressure-ulcer clinical nutrition, but pressure-ulcer evidence remains very uncertain in synthesis-level review (Research) (Review).
  • Ca-AKG, AAKG, OKG, calcium ketoglutarate, and surgical AKG preparations should not be treated as interchangeable because each formulation has a different paired compound or route (Research) (Research).

Human Research Findings by Condition

Aging and Longevity Research

Human research on AKG and aging has focused on DNA methylation age, also called epigenetic age, rather than clinical aging outcomes such as frailty progression or mortality (Research). The evidence is early because completed studies include retrospective and cross-sectional analyses, while placebo-controlled Ca-AKG aging trials have been published as protocols or registrations rather than completed outcome papers (Research) (Research).

Key human study

Dose studied: Rejuvant® sustained-release Ca-AKG formulation with sex-specific vitamins; exact AKG dose was not clearly stated in the abstract.
Population: 42 self-reported healthy individuals using a Ca-AKG-based formulation.
Duration: 4 to 10 months; average about 7 months.

Researchers retrospectively analyzed DNA methylation age in people taking a Rejuvant® alpha-ketoglutarate-based formulation. The study reported an average 8-year decrease in DNA methylation age, but the authors stated that placebo-controlled testing was needed.

Result: Observational human studies reported an association
Evidence strength: Limited
Study source: (Research)

Additional human study

Dose studied: Delayed-release Ca-AKG plus vitamins by supplement-exposure category; exact AKG dose was not the primary exposure unit.
Population: 4,260 health-focused adults who purchased saliva-based epigenetic tests and completed lifestyle and supplement questionnaires.
Duration: Cross-sectional assessment.

A large cohort analysis evaluated supplement use and biological age residual. Delayed-release Ca-AKG plus vitamins was associated with a lower age residual, but the study design was cross-sectional and cannot establish that AKG caused the association.

Result: Observational human studies reported an association
Evidence strength: Observational
Study source: (Research)

Additional human study

Dose studied: 1 g/day sustained-release Ca-AKG.
Population: 120 healthy adults aged 40–60 with DNA methylation age higher than chronological age.
Duration: 6 months of intervention plus 3 months of follow-up.

The ABLE study is a double-blind, placebo-controlled randomized trial protocol testing sustained-release Ca-AKG for biological age in middle-aged adults. This source verifies the trial design and dose but does not provide completed efficacy results.

Result: Human evidence remains limited or inconclusive
Evidence strength: Emerging
Study source: (Research)

Bone Health

Human bone-health evidence for AKG includes a six-month randomized double-blind trial in postmenopausal women with osteopenia (Research). The study measured bone turnover markers and lumbar spine bone mineral density, so the evidence is relevant but not sufficient to establish fracture-prevention outcomes (Research).

Key human study

Dose studied: 6 g AKG plus 1.68 g calcium per day as alpha-ketoglutaric acid calcium salt.
Population: 76 postmenopausal women with osteopenia.
Duration: 6 months.

Researchers compared calcium alpha-ketoglutarate with calcium alone. The calcium AKG group had lower serum CTX, a marker of bone resorption, compared with calcium alone.

Result: Randomized human trial reported a statistically significant improvement
Evidence strength: Limited
Study source: (Research)

Muscle Health

Human research on AKG and muscle-related outcomes includes exercise-training studies using AKG or alpha-keto acids and sports-nutrition studies using AAKG (Research). Findings are mixed because some studies reported training-tolerance or strength-related signals, while acute AAKG research found no clear muscular-performance improvement (Research) (Research).

Key human study

Dose studied: 0.2 g/kg/day AKG.
Population: 33 untrained young male adults assigned to AKG, branched-chain keto acids, or placebo groups.
Duration: 4 weeks of training plus 1 week of recovery.

A randomized double-blind placebo-controlled study tested AKG during structured exercise training. The AKG group tolerated higher training volume and reached higher power output and peak muscle torque compared with placebo.

Result: Randomized human trial reported a statistically significant improvement
Evidence strength: Limited
Study source: (Research)

Additional human study

Dose studied: 4 g AAKG acutely and 12 g/day AAKG for 8 weeks.
Population: Trained adult men aged 30–50.
Duration: Acute pharmacokinetic testing and 8-week supplementation.

A two-part study evaluated AAKG pharmacokinetics, safety, and exercise performance. The chronic study reported differences for bench press, Wingate peak power, blood glucose, and plasma arginine, but AAKG combines arginine with AKG and cannot be interpreted as plain AKG evidence.

Result: Human clinical studies reported mixed findings
Evidence strength: Mixed
Study source: (Research)

Additional human study

Dose studied: Acute AAKG supplement servings totaling 7.4 g before exercise in one PubMed-indexed trial.
Population: Resistance-trained college-aged men.
Duration: Acute crossover exercise testing.

An acute AAKG trial examined muscular endurance and blood pressure responses during resistance training. The study reported no improvement in muscular endurance and suggested the supplement could hinder muscular endurance in that setting.

Result: Human clinical study reported no clear effect
Evidence strength: Mixed
Study source: (Research)

Diabetes and Glycemic Control

Human evidence related to AKG and diabetes comes from exercise-training support research using alpha-keto acid supplementation in people with type 2 diabetes (Research). This evidence should be framed as an exercise-context study, not as standalone diabetes-treatment evidence (Research).

Key human study

Dose studied: 0.2 g/kg/day alpha-keto acid supplementation.
Population: 28 people with type 2 diabetes.
Duration: 6 weeks of cycle-ergometer training plus recovery assessment.

Researchers studied whether alpha-keto acid supplementation supported exercise training in type 2 diabetes. The supplementation group showed improved training effects and a more prolonged glucose-control benefit after the training period.

Result: Human clinical study reported a modest improvement
Evidence strength: Limited
Study source: (Research)

Beauty and Skin Health

Human evidence relevant to skin and tissue repair comes mainly from clinical-nutrition studies using ornithine alpha-ketoglutarate in burns or pressure ulcers (Research). This evidence should not be reframed as cosmetic skin evidence because the studied populations were medically injured or vulnerable patients (Review).

Key human study

Dose studied: 10 g/day, 20 g/day, or 30 g/day OKG.
Population: 54 burn patients with 20–50% total burn surface area.
Duration: Clinical burn-care nutrition period.

A randomized controlled trial studied enteral OKG administration in burn patients. OKG significantly improved nitrogen balance and reduced urinary 3-methylhistidine and hydroxyproline, markers related to protein and collagen breakdown.

Result: Human clinical study reported a modest improvement
Evidence strength: Limited
Study source: (Research)

Additional human study

Dose studied: 10 g/day OKG.
Population: Elderly patients with heel pressure ulcers.
Duration: 6 weeks.

A multicenter randomized placebo-controlled trial evaluated OKG in elderly people with heel pressure ulcers. The trial reported a potential benefit in the subgroup with ulcers of 8 cm² or smaller, while a Cochrane review judged the broader pressure-ulcer nutrition evidence very uncertain.

Result: Human clinical studies reported mixed findings
Evidence strength: Inconclusive
Study source: (Research)
Supporting context: (Review)

Cardiovascular Health

Human cardiovascular research involving AKG includes small randomized cardiac-surgery studies in which AKG was added to blood cardioplegia (Research). These findings are specific to perioperative myocardial-protection research and should not be generalized to oral cardiovascular supplement use (Research).

Key human study

Dose studied: 28 g alpha-ketoglutarate added to blood cardioplegia.
Population: 24 men undergoing coronary surgery.
Duration: Perioperative exposure during surgery.

Researchers tested AKG-enriched cardioplegia during coronary surgery. AKG reduced blood appearance of creatine kinase MB and troponin T after release of the aortic cross-clamp.

Result: Human studies observed short-term physiological effects
Evidence strength: Limited
Study source: (Research)

Additional human study

Dose studied: Average of 28 g alpha-ketoglutarate added to blood cardioplegia.
Population: Patients undergoing coronary operations.
Duration: Perioperative exposure during cardiac surgery.

A prospective randomized study evaluated AKG-enriched blood cardioplegia. AKG treatment was associated with lower creatine kinase MB and lower troponin, but the route and clinical setting make the findings specific to cardiac surgery.

Result: Human studies observed short-term physiological effects
Evidence strength: Limited
Study source: (Research)

Kidney Health

Kidney-related human evidence for AKG comes from hemodialysis studies using calcium ketoglutarate or alpha-ketoglutarate in specialized renal-care contexts (Research). This evidence is not general kidney-wellness evidence because dialysis patients differ from healthy adults in mineral metabolism, phosphate control, and clinical monitoring (Research).

Key human study

Dose studied: Calcium ketoglutarate granulate; specific dose not stated in the PubMed abstract.
Population: Chronic hemodialysis patients.
Duration: 12 weeks per treatment arm in a randomized crossover design.

A randomized crossover study compared calcium ketoglutarate with calcium carbonate for phosphate binding in chronic hemodialysis. Plasma phosphate and PTH did not differ significantly between arms, while ionized calcium was lower during calcium ketoglutarate treatment.

Result: Human clinical studies reported mixed findings
Evidence strength: Limited
Study source: (Research)

Additional human study

Dose studied: Calcium ketoglutarate compared with calcium acetate; specific dose not stated in the PubMed abstract.
Population: Maintenance hemodialysis patients with hyperphosphatemia.
Duration: Crossover study.

A separate crossover study evaluated calcium ketoglutarate versus calcium acetate for hyperphosphatemia in maintenance hemodialysis. The study supports the existence of dialysis-specific phosphate-binding research but does not support general wellness claims for AKG.

Result: Human clinical studies reported mixed findings
Evidence strength: Limited
Study source: (Research)

Dosage & Study Snapshot (Research Context)

Human AKG exposure has been studied in distinct forms: Ca-AKG for biological-age and bone-turnover research, AAKG for exercise physiology, OKG for clinical nutrition, calcium ketoglutarate for dialysis phosphate-binding research, and AKG-enriched cardioplegia for cardiac surgery (Research) (Research) (Research). The studied exposures differ from ordinary supplement-market use because some are paired compounds, some are medical nutrition formulas, and some are non-oral surgical exposures (Research).

Questionnaire-reported AKG or delayed-release Ca-AKG exposure; exact dose not specified:

A 4,260-person cross-sectional cohort assessed supplement use and biological age residual through participant questionnaires and epigenetic testing. The study identified delayed-release Ca-AKG plus vitamins as associated with lower age residual. This exposure is listed first because it is the lowest-precision human exposure category rather than a numeric dose band. The study cannot establish dose-response or causality because it was observational and cross-sectional (Research).

Result: Observational association
Evidence strength: Observational
Notes / limitations: The exposure was product-reported, not a controlled dose.

1 g/day sustained-release Ca-AKG:

The ABLE randomized trial protocol uses 1 g/day sustained-release Ca-AKG in adults aged 40–60 whose DNA methylation age is higher than chronological age. The intervention is designed for 6 months, followed by 3 months of follow-up. The primary context is biological aging measured with DNA methylation clocks. This dose is protocol-level evidence rather than completed efficacy evidence (Research).

Result: Preliminary signal
Evidence strength: Emerging
Notes / limitations: This source verifies trial design but not completed benefit.

4 g acute AAKG:

An AAKG study included an acute 4 g exposure to evaluate pharmacokinetics, safety, and performance-related outcomes in trained adult men. Plasma arginine was one of the measured outcomes, which makes the study more informative for AAKG exposure than for Ca-AKG aging research. Because AAKG contains arginine, interpretation may reflect arginine-related physiology as well as AKG. This dose should not be treated as a plain AKG or Ca-AKG dose (Research).

Result: Preliminary signal
Evidence strength: Limited
Notes / limitations: AAKG is not interchangeable with Ca-AKG.

6 g/day AKG plus 1.68 g/day calcium:

A six-month randomized trial in postmenopausal women with osteopenia used calcium alpha-ketoglutarate providing 6 g AKG and 1.68 g calcium per day. The comparison group received calcium alone. The calcium AKG group had lower CTX, a bone-resorption marker. This dose is relevant to bone-turnover research but not to clinical anti-aging outcomes (Research).

Result: Statistically significant improvement
Evidence strength: Limited
Notes / limitations: The main supported finding is a bone-turnover marker change.

7.4 g acute AAKG before resistance exercise:

An acute resistance-training study used two servings of an AAKG supplement, with each serving containing 3,700 mg AAKG. The study evaluated muscular endurance and blood-pressure responses during resistance exercise. It did not report improved muscular endurance and suggested the supplement could hinder performance in that setting. This dose band reinforces the mixed nature of AAKG exercise evidence (Research).

Result: No clear effect
Evidence strength: Limited
Notes / limitations: The evidence applies to acute AAKG before resistance exercise.

0.2 g/kg/day AKG or alpha-keto acid supplementation:

A randomized study in untrained young men used 0.2 g/kg/day AKG during 4 weeks of training and 1 week of recovery. Another randomized study in type 2 diabetes used 0.2 g/kg/day alpha-keto acid supplementation during cycle-ergometer training. The first study reported higher training volume, power output, and muscle torque; the second reported supportive effects on training and glucose control. These are exercise-context exposures rather than standalone health-effect doses (Research) (Research).

Result: Modest improvement
Evidence strength: Limited
Notes / limitations: The effects were studied alongside structured exercise training.

10 g/day OKG:

A multicenter randomized placebo-controlled trial studied 10 g/day ornithine alpha-ketoglutarate for 6 weeks in elderly people with heel pressure ulcers. The trial reported a potential benefit in a subgroup with smaller ulcers. A Cochrane review described pressure-ulcer nutrition evidence, including OKG comparison evidence, as very uncertain. This dose is specific to OKG wound-care nutrition (Research) (Review).

Result: Mixed findings
Evidence strength: Limited
Notes / limitations: OKG includes ornithine and was studied in a clinical wound-care population.

10–30 g/day OKG in burn care:

A randomized controlled burn-patient study used 10, 20, or 30 g/day OKG as bolus or continuous infusion. OKG significantly improved nitrogen balance and reduced urinary 3-methylhistidine and hydroxyproline. A related burn-patient metabolism study reported extensive OKG metabolism after enteral administration, with production of glutamine, arginine, and proline. These findings are specific to severe burn clinical nutrition (Research) (Research).

Result: Modest improvement
Evidence strength: Limited
Notes / limitations: Burn-care findings should not be generalized to healthy adults.

12 g/day AAKG:

An eight-week study tested 12 g/day AAKG in trained adult men during resistance training. The study reported differences in bench press, Wingate peak power, blood glucose, and plasma arginine. It also evaluated safety and tolerability over the study period. Because AAKG contains arginine, the findings are best interpreted as AAKG-specific sports-nutrition evidence (Research).

Result: Mixed findings
Evidence strength: Limited
Notes / limitations: AAKG findings do not establish Ca-AKG longevity effects.

28 g AKG added to blood cardioplegia:

A cardiac-surgery trial added 28 g AKG to blood cardioplegia during coronary surgery. The study reported lower CK-MB and troponin T after release of the aortic cross-clamp. A separate prospective randomized study also reported lower myocardial injury biomarkers with AKG-enriched cardioplegia. This is a specialized surgical exposure, not an oral supplement dose (Research) (Research).

Result: Preliminary signal
Evidence strength: Limited
Notes / limitations: Surgical cardioplegia evidence does not translate directly to dietary-supplement use.

Key Takeaways from Human Research

  • AKG’s anti-aging evidence is mainly biomarker-based and preliminary, with completed studies centered on DNA methylation age rather than clinical aging outcomes (Research) (Research).
  • The epigenetic rationale is biologically plausible because 2-oxoglutarate-dependent enzymes include DNA and histone demethylases, but mechanistic plausibility does not establish clinical anti-aging benefit (Review).
  • Calcium AKG has one small randomized bone-turnover study in postmenopausal osteopenia, with CTX as the main reported marker finding (Research).
  • AKG and AAKG exercise findings are mixed because some studies report training or performance signals and others report no clear acute performance benefit (Research) (Research).
  • OKG has clinical-nutrition evidence in burns and pressure ulcers, but pressure-ulcer evidence remains uncertain at review level (Research) (Review).
  • Cardiac-surgery and hemodialysis findings are medically specialized and should not be reframed as general supplement benefits (Research) (Research).

Origin & Natural Occurrence

AKG is produced in the body as part of the Krebs cycle, where it helps link nutrient breakdown to cellular energy metabolism (Review). It is also connected to amino acid metabolism because it participates in transamination and related nitrogen-handling pathways (Review).

The human studies reviewed here mainly used administered AKG-containing formulations rather than quantified dietary AKG intake from foods (Research). For that reason, this article does not rank foods by AKG content because the verified human evidence base used here does not provide a reliable dietary intake table (Review).

Manufactured AKG ingredients may appear as calcium alpha-ketoglutarate, arginine alpha-ketoglutarate, ornithine alpha-ketoglutarate, or calcium ketoglutarate in human research (Research) (Research) (Research). These forms should be interpreted separately because calcium, arginine, and ornithine can affect the research context and possible physiological interpretation (Review).

How It Behaves in the Body

In plain language, AKG is a metabolic connector: it helps cells process fuel and helps move nitrogen through amino acid pathways (Review). This explains why AKG-containing formulations appear in research on exercise, wound-care nutrition, dialysis, and surgery rather than only in longevity research (Review).

AKG is also a co-substrate for 2-oxoglutarate-dependent dioxygenases, a family of enzymes that use 2-oxoglutarate during chemical reactions (Review). Some of these enzymes remove methyl groups from DNA or histones, which is why AKG is discussed in epigenetic research (Review).

Reviews describe AKG as connected to mTOR signaling, ATP synthase, reactive oxygen species, collagen biosynthesis, amino acid metabolism, immune regulation, and detoxification pathways (Review) (Review). Many of these mechanisms are supported mainly by experimental or model-organism evidence, so they should be treated as mechanistic context rather than completed human clinical proof (Review).

Human evidence shows that AKG-containing formulations can affect certain biomarkers or clinical-nutrition markers in specific settings (Research) (Research). The less established question is whether oral Ca-AKG reliably changes human aging trajectories or clinically meaningful age-related outcomes (Research).

Absorption & Delivery Formats

Oral immediate-release: AAKG has been studied orally in acute and repeated sports-nutrition protocols, including acute 4 g testing and 12 g/day for 8 weeks (Research). These findings apply to AAKG rather than plain AKG because arginine is part of the administered compound (Research).

Oral sustained-release / delayed-release: Sustained-release Ca-AKG is used in the ABLE trial protocol at 1 g/day for biological aging research (Research). A cross-sectional study reported an association between delayed-release Ca-AKG plus vitamins and lower biological-age residual, but it did not prove delivery format caused the association (Research).

Sublingual: The verified human evidence used for this article did not identify a sublingual AKG pharmacokinetic or outcome study (Review). Sublingual AKG should therefore not be assumed equivalent to oral Ca-AKG, AAKG, or OKG formats (Research).

Transdermal: The verified human evidence used for this article did not identify a transdermal AKG study (Review). Transdermal AKG claims should not be inferred from oral or surgical research (Research).

Injectable / IV or surgical exposure: AKG has been studied by adding it to blood cardioplegia during coronary surgery (Research). This is a specialized medical route and does not represent oral supplement pharmacokinetics (Research).

Quick Facts at a Glance

Onset reported: Acute AAKG research measured short-term plasma arginine and performance-related outcomes, but this does not establish onset for Ca-AKG aging effects (Research). Biological-age studies assess DNA methylation markers over months rather than immediate symptom onset (Research).

Time to peak, Tmax: The reviewed evidence did not establish a clear oral Ca-AKG Tmax in healthy adults or aging research (Research). AAKG research measured plasma arginine response, but that is not the same as a Ca-AKG Tmax estimate (Research).

Half-life, t½: The reviewed evidence did not establish a standard oral Ca-AKG half-life for supplement use (Review). OKG burn-patient metabolism research reported an elimination half-life of 89 minutes after enteral administration, but that applies to OKG in burn patients rather than Ca-AKG in healthy adults (Research).

Typical duration: Human study durations range from acute AAKG testing to 6-week OKG pressure-ulcer research, 6-month Ca-AKG bone or aging protocols, and 12-week dialysis crossover periods (Research) (Research) (Research) (Research).

Absorption routes studied: Oral, enteral, dialysis-related oral phosphate-binding, and surgical cardioplegia exposures appear in the verified human evidence (Research) (Research) (Research). Sublingual and transdermal routes were not represented by verified human studies in this evidence set (Review).

Formulation differences: Ca-AKG, AAKG, OKG, and calcium ketoglutarate differ because calcium, arginine, ornithine, or dialysis-specific formulation context can affect interpretation (Research) (Research) (Research). This is why exercise, burn-care, bone, and aging studies should not be collapsed into one generic AKG benefit claim (Review).

Variability drivers: Population, dose, route, formulation, trial duration, and outcome type all vary across human AKG studies (Review). These differences explain why a cardiac-surgery biomarker finding does not directly support oral AKG longevity claims (Research).

Tolerance / adaptation: The reviewed evidence did not establish a clear tolerance or adaptation pattern for oral Ca-AKG in healthy adults (Research). One small AAKG study reported that 12 g/day for 8 weeks appeared safe and well tolerated in trained men based on measured clinical markers, but that finding is formulation- and population-specific (Research).

Evidence strength snapshot: Human evidence is strongest for narrow context-specific findings, including bone turnover, exercise-training markers, burn-care nutrition markers, dialysis phosphate-binding comparisons, and cardiac-surgery biomarkers (Research) (Research) (Research). Human evidence for anti-aging benefit remains preliminary because completed studies are not yet large placebo-controlled clinical outcome trials (Research) (Research).

Safety, Interactions & Regulation

Human safety data are formulation-specific and cannot be generalized across Ca-AKG, AAKG, OKG, calcium ketoglutarate, and surgical AKG exposure (Research) (Research). One small AAKG study reported that 12 g/day for 8 weeks appeared safe and well tolerated in trained adult men based on measured clinical markers (Research).

OKG safety has been evaluated in elderly pressure-ulcer patients at 10 g/day for 6 weeks (Research). A Cochrane review found the evidence for adverse events in nutritional interventions for pressure ulcers to be very uncertain, which limits safety conclusions for that clinical area (Review).

Calcium ketoglutarate was evaluated for phosphate-binding efficacy, side effects, and cost in chronic hemodialysis patients (Research). Dialysis findings should not be generalized to healthy adults because hemodialysis patients differ in kidney function, mineral metabolism, and monitoring needs (Research).

Potential interaction considerations depend on formulation because AAKG includes arginine, Ca-AKG includes calcium, and OKG includes ornithine (Research) (Research) (Research). FDA states that dietary supplements can interact with medicines, interfere with lab tests, or have dangerous effects during surgery (FDA).

In the United States, FDA does not approve dietary supplements for safety and effectiveness before they are sold (FDA). FDA states that manufacturers and distributors who wish to market dietary supplements containing new dietary ingredients must notify FDA unless an exemption applies under the law (FDA).

In the European Union, EFSA describes food supplements as regulated products containing nutrients or other substances with nutritional or physiological effects (EFSA). This review did not verify an AKG-specific EU-authorized health claim, so EU benefit claims for AKG should not be stated without a direct EU-authority source (EFSA).

Evidence Overview

The overall human evidence for AKG is Limited / Mixed: aging and epigenetic evidence is biologically plausible but clinically immature, while other human findings are mainly small, context-specific, and formulation-dependent (Review). The most visible anti-aging evidence comes from DNA methylation age studies, including a retrospective Ca-AKG formulation analysis and a cross-sectional supplement-use cohort (Research) (Research). Randomized Ca-AKG aging research has been published as a protocol using 1 g/day sustained-release Ca-AKG for 6 months, but the protocol does not provide completed efficacy outcomes (Research). Confidence is not higher because study designs, formulations, routes, populations, and endpoints differ substantially across the AKG literature (Review).

The mechanistic rationale for AKG in aging and epigenetics is stronger than the completed human outcome evidence (Review). AKG is a tricarboxylic-acid-cycle intermediate and a co-substrate for 2-oxoglutarate-dependent enzymes, including enzymes involved in DNA and histone demethylation (Review). Reviews also discuss AKG in relation to mTOR signaling, ATP synthase, oxidative stress biology, collagen biosynthesis, amino acid metabolism, and immune regulation (Review) (Review).

Outside aging research, some human studies report measurable findings in specific contexts (Research). Calcium AKG reduced CTX in a six-month randomized study of postmenopausal women with osteopenia, but that marker finding does not establish fracture prevention (Research). Exercise research includes both positive AKG or AAKG signals and neutral acute AAKG findings, so the muscle-health evidence is mixed (Research) (Research).

Clinical-nutrition and medical-setting studies are important but narrow. OKG burn studies reported improved nitrogen balance and reduced urinary markers of protein and collagen breakdown, while pressure-ulcer evidence remains uncertain in Cochrane synthesis (Research) (Review). AKG-enriched cardioplegia reduced myocardial injury biomarkers during coronary surgery, but that finding applies to surgical exposure rather than oral supplementation (Research). Calcium ketoglutarate dialysis research concerns phosphate-binding comparisons in hemodialysis rather than general kidney wellness (Research).

Future confidence would require completed randomized Ca-AKG trials with preregistered biological-aging endpoints, direct exposure or pharmacokinetic measures, and clinically meaningful age-related outcomes (Research). Evidence interpretation would also improve if studies consistently separated Ca-AKG, AAKG, OKG, calcium ketoglutarate, and surgical AKG exposure rather than grouping them as one generic AKG intervention (Research) (Research).

Evidence Confidence Classification

Limited / Mixed is the best overall human evidence classification for AKG because anti-aging evidence is mostly biomarker-based and observational, while other human studies are small, context-specific, and formulation-dependent (Research) (Review).

The biological rationale for epigenetic and aging research is plausible because 2-oxoglutarate is required by enzymes involved in DNA and histone demethylation (Review). Completed human anti-aging evidence has not yet reached the strength of large, replicated placebo-controlled trials with clinical aging outcomes (Research).

Some non-aging areas have randomized human evidence, including bone turnover, exercise training, wound-care nutrition, dialysis phosphate-binding research, and surgical cardioprotection (Research) (Research) (Research). These findings remain limited overall because they involve different AKG-containing compounds, routes, populations, and endpoints (Review).

Similar Ingredients & Comparators

Similar supplement-style ingredients:

  • NAD+ precursors
  • Creatine
  • Glycine
  • Taurine
  • Spermidine
  • Magnesium
  • Collagen peptides
  • L-arginine
  • L-ornithine
  • Citrulline
  • Calcium salts used in supplement formulations

Medical / pharma comparator categories:

  • Bone-turnover therapies
  • Phosphate binders
  • Clinical nutrition formulas
  • Perioperative cardioplegia additives
  • Diabetes medications
  • Wound-care nutrition interventions
  • Exercise-training interventions

Combination Context

AKG + Calcium:

Calcium alpha-ketoglutarate combines AKG with calcium and has been studied in postmenopausal women with osteopenia. The six-month trial reported lower CTX compared with calcium alone, but the study does not establish fracture-prevention benefit (Research).

AKG + Vitamins:

A retrospective Ca-AKG formulation study used Rejuvant®, described as a sustained-release Ca-AKG formulation with sex-specific vitamins, and reported a decrease in DNA methylation age (Research). A large cross-sectional study also evaluated delayed-release Ca-AKG plus vitamins and found an association with lower age residual, but formulation and study design limit causal interpretation (Research).

Arginine + AKG:

AAKG combines arginine with alpha-ketoglutarate and has been studied for plasma arginine response and exercise outcomes. The evidence is mixed because one eight-week study reported selected performance signals while acute AAKG studies did not consistently improve muscular performance (Research) (Research).

Ornithine + AKG:

OKG combines ornithine with alpha-ketoglutarate and has been studied in clinical nutrition for burns and pressure ulcers. Burn research reported improved nitrogen balance and lower urinary markers of tissue breakdown, while pressure-ulcer evidence remained uncertain in review-level synthesis (Research) (Review).

AKG + Exercise Training:

AKG or alpha-keto acid supplementation has been studied alongside structured exercise training in untrained young men and people with type 2 diabetes. These studies reported training-tolerance or glucose-control support signals, but the findings are tied to exercise programs rather than AKG alone (Research) (Research).

FAQ

What is AKG?

AKG is alpha-ketoglutarate, also called 2-oxoglutarate, and it is a natural intermediate in the Krebs cycle (Review). It connects energy metabolism with amino acid and nitrogen metabolism (Review). In human research, AKG appears as Ca-AKG, AAKG, OKG, calcium ketoglutarate, or AKG-enriched cardioplegia depending on the study context (Research) (Research).

What does human research study AKG for?

Human research studies AKG-containing formulations for biological-age markers, bone turnover, exercise physiology, diabetes-related exercise training, wound-care nutrition, hemodialysis phosphate-binding, and cardiac-surgery biomarkers (Research) (Research) (Research). Anti-aging studies mainly use DNA methylation age rather than clinical aging outcomes (Research). Clinical-nutrition and surgical studies use medically specialized contexts rather than ordinary supplement use (Research) (Research).

What are the best-supported uses?

The best-supported findings are narrow and context-specific rather than broad health claims (Review). Calcium AKG has a small randomized bone-turnover study in postmenopausal osteopenia (Research). AKG and AAKG exercise studies have mixed findings, with some positive training outcomes and some neutral acute performance findings (Research) (Research).

Where is evidence mixed or limited?

Evidence is mixed or limited for anti-aging, exercise performance, pressure-ulcer healing, and general wellness claims (Research) (Review). Anti-aging evidence includes epigenetic-clock associations but not yet large completed placebo-controlled trials with clinical aging outcomes (Research). Exercise evidence differs by formulation, dose, population, and outcome (Research).

How quickly does AKG act?

The reviewed evidence does not establish one general onset time for AKG because studies use different formulations and outcomes (Review). Acute AAKG studies measured short-term exercise or plasma arginine outcomes, but those findings do not define onset for Ca-AKG aging effects (Research). DNA methylation age studies assess changes over months rather than immediate effects (Research).

What affects absorption and variability?

Formulation, paired compound, route, dose, population, and outcome type affect how AKG research should be interpreted (Review). Ca-AKG, AAKG, OKG, and calcium ketoglutarate differ because calcium, arginine, ornithine, and dialysis-specific use can shape results (Research) (Research). Surgical cardioplegia exposure should not be compared directly with oral supplement exposure (Research).

Is tolerance reported?

The reviewed evidence does not establish a general tolerance pattern for Ca-AKG in healthy adults (Research). One small AAKG study reported that 12 g/day for 8 weeks appeared safe and well tolerated in trained men based on measured clinical markers (Research). OKG and calcium ketoglutarate safety data come from clinical populations such as pressure-ulcer patients and hemodialysis patients (Research) (Research).

Why do studies disagree?

AKG studies can disagree because they do not always study the same compound, route, dose, population, or endpoint (Review). AAKG exercise findings cannot automatically be applied to Ca-AKG aging studies because AAKG includes arginine (Research). OKG wound-care findings cannot automatically be applied to healthy-aging claims because OKG includes ornithine and was studied in clinical nutrition settings (Research).

What ingredients is AKG commonly combined with and why?

AKG is commonly studied with calcium, arginine, ornithine, vitamins, or exercise training depending on the research context (Research) (Research) (Research). Calcium AKG is used in bone-turnover and biological-aging research, AAKG in exercise research, and OKG in clinical nutrition research (Research) (Research) (Research). These combinations should not be treated as identical because the paired ingredients may influence outcomes (Review).

What foods naturally contain AKG?

The verified human evidence used for this article supports AKG as an endogenous metabolite but does not provide a reliable ranked food-source table (Review). The human studies reviewed here mainly evaluated administered formulations rather than quantified dietary AKG intake (Research). Food-source claims should therefore be made cautiously unless supported by a dedicated food-composition source (Review).

How is AKG regulated?

In the United States, FDA does not approve dietary supplements for safety and effectiveness before marketing (FDA). FDA states that new dietary ingredient notification requirements may apply to manufacturers or distributors who wish to market supplements containing new dietary ingredients (FDA). In the European Union, EFSA describes food supplements as regulated products containing nutrients or other substances with nutritional or physiological effects, but this review did not verify an AKG-specific authorized EU health claim (EFSA).

Resources

More from the Supplement Ingredients & Medical Ingredients Encyclopedia​